Major cocoa producing countries

Cocoa is grown mainly in West Africa, Central America, South America and Asia. According to the annual production, collected by UNCTAD for the crop year 2005/06, the eight largest producers in the world were (in descending order) Ivory Coast (38%), Ghana (19%), Indonesia (13%), Nigeria (5%), Brazil (5%), Cameroon (5%), Ecuador (4%) and Malaysia (1%). These countries represent 90% of world production.


The main producers are also the largest exporters, with the exception of Brazil and Malaysia whose domestic consumption absorbs most of its production. In Latin America, for example, exports of cocoa from the Dominican Republic exceed those of Brazil.


 Mexico, in spite of optimal climatic conditions to become one of the leading producers of cocoa in the world, is not, the Foundation seeks to increase Mexico’s cocoa production and make Mexico a major cocoa producing country worldwide. The Foundation seeks to improve the quality of cocoa through sustainable agricultural practices, while improving the living conditions of farmers and increasing their quality of life.


Mexico is the eleventh place in world production, participating with less than 2% of world production. Preliminary estimated production is about 22,000 tonnes (2011-2012 cycle).


Cocoa is produced primarily by the state of Tabasco, which produces 66% of the national production, followed by Chiapas which produces 33%, both contributing to 99% of total production, the rest is  produced between Oaxaca, Guerrero and Veracruz.